Descent into Darkness

photo by Nick Woods

photo by Nick Woods

Finally on my way to yes
I bump into
all the places
where I said no
to my life
all the untended wounds
the red and purple scars
those hieroglyphs of pain
carved into my skin, my bones,
those coded messages
that send me down
the wrong street
again and again
where I find them
the old wounds
the old misdirections
and I lift them
one by one
close to my heart
and I say holy
holy. ~ Pesha Joyce Gertler

I talked in my last blog post about new year’s intention setting, and the powerful opportunity we have to make change in our life. The energy of the new year was coupled with the power and potency of two vibrant new moons in the month of January that have given us the opportunity embrace all the change coming our way. When I set the intention for change in my life, I have found that everything in my life that is not in resonance with the shift I am wanting to make, rises up to be processed and dealt with. For example, I have set intentions in the past around expressing more self-love. It seems, almost immediately, I find myself facing my harshest critical voice and the ways in which I judge myself. At first, this feels counter to the intention I’ve just set. However, when I can start to unpack my oldest wounds and my deepest fears I find I have the opportunity to do my most profound work.

So, if you set some strong intentions at the start of the year and it now feels as though you’re just barely treading water, take a moment to pause and give thanks. Its like the old adage “Its always darkest before the dawn.” The more you can consciously wade into the murky depths of whatever is coming up with the intent of healing, the more powerful the outcome will be.
Leave a Reply

